Sports Featured 1
76th Annual Stark County High School Football Awards Show – the All County Winners

It’s time to honor the BEST OF THE BEST

We did it!  We made it through what was a strange, different and at times difficult 2020 High School Football season.  Congratulations Stark County!

Now it’s time to honor the best of the best!  As you might imagine, we at News/Talk 1480 WHBC are not able told hold our annual in-person banquet at Skyland Pines as we do each year.  And while we are disappointed that get together will be absent this year, that has not stopped us from selecting our All County Offense, All County Defense, Stark County Player of the Year, Stark County Coach of the Year, The Jim Muzzy Scholastic Achievement Award Winner and the Jim Johnson Sportsmanship Award Winner.  Each School has named it’s team MVP as well.

And although we won’t get together for a meal, we are creating a MUST SEE TV event on Wednesday, December 2nd.  The All County teams will be honored and the winners of our TOP 4 awards will be announced!  The broadcast will be seen on WIVM on Spectrum and Massillon Cable and will be streamed live on our website as well.  More details to come.

In the meantime…Congratulations to our Stark County honorees as voted on by Stark County’s High School Football Coaches:

Stark County Player of the Year, Stark County Coach of the Year, The Jim Muzzy Scholastic Achievement Award Winner and the Jim Johnson Sportsmanship Award Winner:  TO BE ANNOUNCED ON THE NIGHT OF THE TV SHOW

Major Award Winners

MVPs: Perry’s Joshua Lemon & Sandy Valley’s Cameron Blair

Coach of the Year: Keith Wakefield: Perry

Jim Muzzy: Nick Maricocchi: Lake

Jim Johnson: Justin Kornish: Fairless

WHBC All County Teams


QB: Connor Ashby: Hoover

QB: Cameron Blair: Sandy Valley

RB: Trent Chavers: Canton South

RB: Josh Lemon: Perry

RB: Drew Robinson: Hoover

RB: Nolan Hooker: Marlington

RB: Kayden Davis: Alliance

WR: Brock Henne: Hoover

WR: Anthony Grossnickle: Northwest

WR: Johnny Kulich: Jackson

WR: Jayden Ballard: Massillon

WR: Demetrius Evans: Sandy Valley

TE: Tyler Hoover: East Canton

OL: Anthony Brumbaugh: Perry

OL: Terrence Rankl: Massillon

OL: Stefan Monohan: McKinley

OL: Xavier Hill: McKinley

OL: John Kouth: Massillon

OL: Alec Lehman: Hoover

OL: Josh Stafford: Louisville

K: Alex Bauer: Massillon

Stark County All County Defense 

DL: Caiden Woullard: Massillon

DL: Anthony Jones: Perry

DL: Mike Miller: Massillon

DL: Logan Wise: Northwest

DL: Rodney Donald: McKinley

DL: Ben DeGuzman: Hoover

LB: Cayman Williams: Perry

LB: Ryan Prusinowski: Hoover

LB: Nick Maricocchi: Lake

LB: Jaiden Wise: Massillon

LB: Mani Powell: McKinley

DB: Andrew Wilson-Lamp: Massillon

DB: Jonah Lytle: McKinley

DB: Brian Pinkney: McKinley

DB: Jordan Mick: Northwest

DB: Martavien Johnson: Massillon

DB: Asian Burt: St. Thomas

P: Magnus Haines: Massillon

WHBC Stark county TEAM MVPs

ALLIANCE Brandon Alexander


CANTON SOUTH Trent Chavers

CENTRAL Owen Murphy


FAIRLESS Ethan Brindley

GLENOAK Luke Tyler

HOOVER Connor Ashby

JACKSON Johnny Kulich

LAKE Carson Miller



MASSILLON Nick Liebler

MINERVA Jarrett Burress


PERRY Dominic Vinas


THOMAS Robbie Mitchell

TUSLAW Kaden Lau